Skip to main content

Kathleen Holmes was the co-founder of Glaucoma Australia 30 years ago and was awarded an OAM in 1996 in recognition of her dedication to the glaucoma cause.

The Glaucoma Australia 'Kath Holmes' scholarships assist trainees from Australia to attend, while the ANZGS scholarships assist trainees from developing countries.

We are delighted to award the 'Kath Holmes' scholarship to 4 ophthalmology registrars each year.

  • 1 trainee is awarded $2,000 for the best presentation by a Registrar
  • 3 trainees are awarded $1,000 to assist with travel expenses to glaucoma related meetings
Dr Alp Atik, Dr Bigirimana Deus, and Dr Bob Wang


The scholarship will help fund my second glaucoma fellowship at the University of Alabama in Birmingham, Alabama. This is a part of the US which has some of the most challenging glaucoma cases and I hope to learn as much as possible before coming home to Australia.
Dr Alp Atik
Kath Holmes Scholarship Recipients
Year Recipient(s) - Country
2020 Dr Alp Atik
Dr Bigirimana Deus
Dr Bob Wang
Dr Sebastian Derham
2019 None
2018 Dr Ellie Bowditch - Australia
Dr Joobin Hooshmand - Australia
Dr Lukas Sahhar - Australia
Kay Lam – Australia
2017 Dr Bernado Soares – Australia
2016 None
2015 Dr Mayko Thet – Australia
2014 Dr Parth Shah – Australia
2013 Dr Deki Truong - Australia
Dr Maria Cecilia Aquino - Singapore
Dr Astrianda Suryono - Indonesia
Dr Arini Safira – Indonesia
2012 Dr Astrianda Suryono - Indonesia
Dr Chelvin Sng - Singapore
Dr Maria Cecilia Aquino- Singapore
Scientist looking in microscope
Support Research

Glaucoma Australia is committed to supporting research in an effort to eliminate glaucoma blindness. You can contribute to this research by making a tax deductible donation today.